What photography means to me

Chaitra Karkera
2 min readJun 3, 2021

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever….it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything” — Aaron Siskind

A dewdrop in the middle of a leaf. Photograph originally clicked by the author.

For the last 7 years, my camera has been flooded with hundreds of photographs, be it a sunset, a boat, birds, insects, mountains, rocks, etc. I have been capturing each and everything I find alluring. All those little things which make the world more beautiful are now captured in my camera.

Through photography, I have also fallen in love with traveling. It keeps me sane. Now, we can find photographers and photography everywhere. I find myself to be an amateur in this field. But what does photography mean to me? Why do I click pictures?

  • Photography has completely changed me as a person. I see things from a different perspective. All those things I capture/encounter in my life have taught me a lesson in one or another way.
  • There were times where I used to get up at 4 am just to watch and capture the beautiful sunrise for just a few minutes. I look back at those photos to mesmerize the beauty. But, can I go back to that time, obviously no. Hence, preserving those beautiful photographs where I can look back would be the reason why I click.
  • When I had clicked some of the pictures and uploaded them on social media, many pages did feature my photographs. So, definitely the motivation to click good pictures.
Railroad. Photograph originally clicked by the author.
  • To have a real connection with the outside world through photography. Capturing the beauty of nature helps in having an emotional connection with nature. It also helps us to stay in the moment.
  • To convey the stories to the world through photography. It is a form of expression. Every picture I click can tell something. Hence the quote — “Photography is the story I fail to put into words.” by Destin Sparks
  • Photography has become a hobby and it gives me a great learning experience about different aspects such as angles, depth, focus, clarity, etc.

This is my answer. What does photography mean to you?

Just sharing my love for photography, capture through my lens, and become a better photographer :)

--

--

Chaitra Karkera

Student, an amateur photographer, artist and investor